Scifialiens Weblog hasn’t really taken off yet, from what I can tell…  But it was supposed to help get some internet recognition among SF fans for Been Blued.  I’m in the process of getting a web site set up, so things might all finally ‘click’ at the same time.  Meanwhile, as of last week (last week of Sept. 2007,) the publisher has the manuscript for the sequel.  I’m not telling people the title just yet, as they may want me to change it.  However, for now we can call it ‘the sequel.’  Why not?  It’s the sequel to the first book I’ve had published, so there’s only one so far.

It takes a few weeks for the editorial team at iUniverse.com to go through a manuscript and recommend changes, so until they’re done, I’m working on the next novel.  I’m surprised at how fast it’s going, even for me.  It seems almost every day there’s another idea to put into it.

Insipration.  There’s an issue that can be debated at length.  I pretty much quit the one writing course I was taking because the text book’s author didn’t believe in ‘the golden pen of inspiration.’  That reminds me, I’ll have to buy one, just to spite the rejection of inspiration.  I like inspiration.  In fact, I wouldn’t write without it.  If I did lack it, I’d probably be prone to write about how miserably hard writing was.

It’s a hard thing to pin down.  Where do ideas come from?  I think a lot of it has to do with one’s own personality.  We all see most of the same things, but whereas I might take note of how someone interacts with people and objects around them, another person viewing the same events may have his or her attention directed elsewhere. 

Like most talents, some of us learn to write well, while others seem to do it automatically and score high in English with little effort.  Some simply fail, no matter how hard they try or how interested they are.  Some deny inspiration, I suspect because they’ve never know it.  Others, like me, embrace it, enjoy it, and seem to have an endless supply of it.  (I hope it’s endless.  I like to think that expectation will in itself cause inspiration to keep on coming.)

Hope probably has a lot to do with inspiration.  People with positive expectations generally find some way to bring about what they want.  There’s probably a whole psychology chapter in there somewhere, but that’s someone else’s interest, not mine.  Yes, you can call me Phyl, just don’t call me ‘doctor.’  As always, you can email me at scifialiens@yahoo.com.  Thanks for reading.

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

