I thought the next step in promoting my novels would be to learn how to do a podcast.  But I’ve been spared, at least for the moment.  People are asking when I’m going to do a reading.  Okay, I’ve never done a reading, but I have done some public speaking, been in a few plays where I did a little acting…very little, can’t sing, can’t dance, can’t act: I’m a triple threat to Hollywood.  I don’t drink, and can’t stand the smell of alcohol, so the whole pub scene is a bit intimidating to me.  I’m thinking colleges, libraries, that kind of thing.

These days, whenever you say practically anything, you should make certain people don’t get the wrong idea.  So, no, I will not be doing ‘readings’ of people’s palms or futures.  I gaze at the computer screen, not a crystal ball.  The futures I propose are scifi, not astrological.  So I won’t be doing that kind of reading.

I’ve never been to a reading, but I do enjoy a good radio drama.  That’s what you listen to in your car when the CD player isn’t working, for those of you younger than I am.  It’s my birthday on Thursday, so I can write stuff like that now.  😉  The problem is, I can’t draft eight or nine friends to play different rolls and do that kind of a verbal drama for a reading…or can I?  As the author, I suppose it’s up to me to carry the whole thing.  Since I have no experience with this, there’s no way for me to know what I’m not supposed to do.

Here’s what I planned so far: a passage or chapter from Been Blued, a passage from the next book in the series, Martian Blues, and a teaser from the third book from the series, which I’m currently working on.  If the audience is particularly enrapt, I could also read a small bit from the novel I have planned once the Martian Symbiont series is finished.  Then again, that could be counter-productive, since that’s still at least a year down the road.

One of the comments I hear time and again is that people have been up until three in the morning reading Been Blued.  Which is strange, because I’ve been up until three in the morning working on all the novels so far.  I’m hoping that’s because they enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy writing them, not because they drink the same amount of coffee.

A few people have told me they didn’t know where to get my book.  My web site, www.ScifiAliens.com,  isn’t well known yet, so I had window decals made up for my car.  That should help.  As always, you can contact me at t_phyllis@hotmail.com or scifialiens@yahoo.com.  Please don’t spam me, though.  Get your own blog, instead.

Thanks for reading.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

