Please!  It’s the one thing I can’t stand.  Normally, I’m a patient, even long-suffering individual.  Unfortunately, as hard as I try not to be, I am a little bit high strung.  Walk into a room behind me, no problem; walk in and start talking to someone else, no problem; but if I’m doing paperwork or artwork, I will jump through the ceiling if you suddenly address me or tap me on the shoulder.  So when someone starts to get all emotional and distraught, I cannot handle it.  Freak out on me, and I’ll likely do the same.  Or, if I happen to have myself really under control at that particular moment, I might just tell you to stop it.  People who fidget around me make my nerves raw.  It’s a sure fire way to get me to move across the room.

There are a few benefits to being a bit high strung.  It also makes a person more sensitive and alert.  I immediately notice things about people that tell me a lot more than they think they’re letting on.  Consequently, I can relate to someone I’ve just met very quickly.  It’s extremely rare to encounter someone who tells me nothing by their demeanor.  This is an excellent trait for anyone working with the public.

Being high strung also seems to be an indication that a person will be some kind of artist.  I don’t do that much artwork anymore, and most of my drawing turns into cartoons…but when I do decide to create a work of art, it’s amazing.  I didn’t fully realize it until a few years ago when I asked a friend what she wanted for Christmas; she requested a sculpture I had recently finished.

As a musician, I seem to keep on slowly picking up instruments.  As a high strung musician, my musical preferences (and definitions) do not include rappers, whiners, or screamers.  (I confess, I turn the radio off more than on.)  My first instrument is flute, my second is alto sax–the usual second instrument for a flute player, as there are only two notes with different fingering.  I now play a few chords on electric guitar, but I also mess about with a keyboard from time to time.  Why did I buy the bongos?  They’re kind of fun, and that’s what I tend to focus on.  The music also helps to bring me back into balance when someone around me has freaked out.

I try to avoid freaking out.  It takes way too much energy, for one thing.  It also seems to upset other people, and increases the likelihood that they’ll freak out.  Besides, people who freak out tend to do and say stupid things, often things they regret later and have to apologize for.  Perhaps that’s why my family doesn’t tolerate yelling.  Yell at one of us, and it’s over.  It may seem extreme, but it’s practically impossible to salvage the relationship when there’s been yelling.  Years ago, I quit a job because the manager had yelled at me, over something that his wife had done.  (He ‘hated to see me go,’ but he never apologized.)  One of my cousins got yelled at on his job and quit.  We simply don’t tolerate bad behaviour.  No-one should.  My family may not agree on everything, but we get along quite well.

Thanks for reading.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly
www.ScifiAliens.com

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

