Here’s a photo of my book signing for Been Blued, back in August.  I had no idea what a book signing ‘should’ look like, nor did anyone in the store that was hosting it.  I used as many ‘outer space’ type things I could think of.  It’s amazing how you gain a new appreciation for the local discount stores when you’re looking for aliens or alien related items.

063.jpg

It’s important not to sit there like a bump on a log, especially when someone’s taking your picture.  Do something.  Do anything.  Well, maybe not anything, but try to be appealing.

hpim0495.jpg

Thursday was the ‘big day,’ the book signing at the Dawson Creek mall.  Since presentation is vitally important, I thought I’d share a photo of just the table.  One person told me this set-up was far more appealing than my first.

hpim0486.jpg

Personally, I had a bit more fun setting this one up, but I also built on some ideas from the first one.  Partly because after six months, I could no longer locate several items I used in the first one.  I like to put things in a ‘safe place’ from time to time, but usually, this merely means they’re ‘safe’ only from me.

‘How did it go?’ is the question people ask you afterwards.  Okay, I’ll admit, this one did not go anywhere near as well as I’d hoped.  I believe there were a number of reasons, and I’m going to kind of trash the current ‘no excuses’ talk many retail head offices now engage in.  These things do make a difference, regardless of how much they try to pretend that they don’t.

First, there was very little foot traffic in the mall that day.  I know, I wandered down the hallway to see how things were going throughout the mall.  There were a few reasons for that, other than it just being a Thursday.  This was only the third day of really nice, above zero degrees Celcius weather, after more than two weeks of minus forty with wind chills in the minus forty-five to fifties.  The release from cabin fever often means people refuse to go indoors unless necessary.  As I had felt the effects too, I wasn’t highly motivated to get signage up all over town, not in nice weather, and certainly not in the cold.

There had been vandalism with the signage that was put up.  I know, it’s nothing ‘personal’ to the perpetrator, but it really should be counted as a theft of money crime, in that the victims have to replace or repair things, generally at their own expense.  Someone out there owes me a few white cappuccinos to cover that cost.

The interesting thing was that half the books that were signed were the original, and only one sale was for both the original and the sequel.  Two purchasers were from a city an hour away, which is not only a sale, but publicity as well since it spreads the visibility of the series.  About half a dozen people admitted they didn’t have the cash on them, and took a business card so they could access my website, www.ScifiAliens.com.  It was a total of eight novels, not exactly the resounding success I was hoping for.  Then again, it’s only February.

Several people were amazed that I could get a sequel out in six months.  That’s part of the reason I went with a self-publisher.  I heard a few complaints about the amount of time in general it takes for other authors to get a sequel out, since people see an author and feel quite free to tell him or her exactly what they think.  Mostly though, those who didn’t buy did wish me success.  Several were enchanted with my handheld computer and wanted to watch me work on the third novel for a while.

I don’t consider it to have been a ‘bad’ book signing.  (I did manage to get a steady supply of coffee, so things never could look too bleak.)  I’m not sure why the TV interviewer failed to show up, except they’re currently short-staffed.  The newspaper reporter was thrilled, and the local radio may give me an interview.  It’s all good.  My next book signing is slated for later this spring, in the Pouce Coupe Museum.

Thanks for reading.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly
www.ScifiAliens.com  

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

