It seems this author requires ‘something else’ to be going on while trying to write.  The store I was managing closed last Feb, as the owner finally decided to retire.  I liked the job, and kept the sales up in an effort to keep it.  (That worked for about a year.)  It took me six weeks to find another job, but it really interfered with my writing, what with all that ‘free time’ on my hands.  I couldn’t seem to focus when I should have been writing.

Now that I’m all stressed out again, writing is much easier.  (I guess if I ever become wealthy because of my writing, I’ll have to either keep working or travel a lot.)  The weird thing is, even when I got to the point where the ideas started coming again, my mind seemed to want to skip ahead.  Far ahead.

The Martian Symbiont series is supposed to have a total of four titles.  With both Been Blued and Martian Blues already out, I should be able to focus on the third novel, right?  The problem is, I keep getting ideas for the final book instead.  That means my third novel has been a bit thin in places.

Fortunately, a good author is always reading about the art of writing as well.  It’s hard to consciously compartmentalize each bit of data, but the brain is a wonderful computer in its own right.  Something I read about plot kept haunting me.  Suddenly, I saw what my subconscious was trying to tell me.

I had placed a passage regarding an auxiliary ship in the folder for the fourth book.  That part of the plot actually belongs in the third book.  Now, everything falls into place: the matriarch’s nightmares, the obsolete computer interface, the fury of the underground leader…  Wonderful stuff, at least to me.

And what of the fourth novel?  There are plenty of action scenes, plot development, and a neat (and hopefully unexpected) wrap up still to come.  Part of me wishes I could just write full-time.  Still.

Thanks for reading.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly
www.ScifiAliens.com

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

One response »

Leave a Reply

