Many people on the ‘net are very helpful.  It generally doesn’t take anyone very long to figure out the basics, so long as they’re willing to pay attention and ask questions.  However, a few people tend to forget that we’re not all on the same page.

My reason for being online is, admittedly, self-serving.  I’m looking for ways to get the word out about my scifi Martian Symbiont series, and soon, the new store I’m about to open.  Consequently, I keep my eyes open for marketing opportunities and ways to generate publicity.  There’s a lot of useful information available.

There’s also a lot of information I cannot use, either because I fail to understand parts of the concept/procedure, or because I don’t have much free time to spend online.  One other consideration also comes into things–how expensive is it?

Yes, there are also a lot of ‘get rich quick’ schemes out there.  It reminds me of when I was little and asked my dad if I could have the junk mail, since I was too young to get ‘real’ mail.  After watching me place the ad from one envelop into the reply of another, he asked what I was doing.  “This one,” I said, “is a way to get rich quick.  The second one is a request for donations.  I’m eliminating the middle man.”  (If only life was that easy.)

Ever since getting more or less web savy, one thing I’ve noticed is the RSS feed.  Most people define the RSS as ‘really simply syndication.’  (More technical definitions are available, which was often what kept me from using RSS feeds more.)  ‘Syndication’ is a big, scary word that roughly translates into ‘publishing,’ as in publishing your blog once it’s written.  No mobsters needed.

When you find a blog or website that has content you like, you can subscribe to an RSS feed if they have one.  (It’s usually free to you, but might have cost them something.)  This means that your computer will automatically search for the latest content available there if you subscribe to that feed. 

Subscribing is often as simple as clicking on the RSS feed icon on the site or blog.  Don’t do this on a public or shared computer, though, as RSS feeds link to the computer, not the user.  Once you’ve subscribed, you can access your feeds by clicking on the star icon on your toolbar, usually located near the top left of your screen.

If you wish to provide an RSS feed for others to use, I’d advise googling RSS feed providers, or something similar.  Things change quickly on the ‘net, and any site address may be gone before you read this.  The nice thing about WordPress is that a free RSS feed is available for your blog as a ‘widget’–a word that refers to any miscellaneous tool.

Thanks for reading.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly
www.ScifiAliens.com

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

One response »

  1. AlexM says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

