I’ve been thinking about doing something like this for a long time.  I’ve also been wondering how to go about it for a long time.  I really don’t want to be with another company that assigns more work than can possibly be completed in the time alloted, with the hours allowed.  Overtime is expected, sometimes demanded, but not often acknowledged.

I think what got retail to this point was the ‘survey’ done a decade ago or more.  If you worked in retail, you might remember–that one that asked if you wanted more responsibility–and you thought, ‘an advance accompanied by a raise?’  Upper management responded to your ‘yes’ by slashing positions and doubling or tripling everyone’s workload.  Raise?  What raise?  They never asked if you wanted a raise.

If you were like me, you continued to work on your career, even as you came to the edge of burnout.  Once you mastered that, it was simply a matter of doing ‘what the job takes,’ and figuring out the most effective use of that invisible overtime.

Sometimes it just seems like it’s time to do something else.  A few years ago, I decided to do what I really wanted, which was to be a published author.  With the first two novels of the Martian Symbiont series already out there, it just seemed natural to see what else needed to change.

I wasn’t happy where I was with my work situation, and I’ve had over a decade of managerial experience.  Since I’ve been doing all that for someone else’s company, why not my own?  I’m still waiting for my first shipment of stock, but I just might be open by the end of this week.

The name of my store will be the ‘Oasis Mile Gift Center.’  It will be in Dawson Creek, BC, in the mall.  Since Dawson Creek is the start of the Alaska Highway, it seemed fitting to put the word ‘mile’ in there–and it allowed me a business name that wasn’t already taken.

I plan to have blankets, souvenirs, native crafts, some spices, and of course, my own books.  Planning my next book signing just became much easier.  But that’s not why I did it.  Really.

Thanks for reading.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly
www.ScifiAliens.com

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

