First, a brief apology to my regular readers for the departure from writing and science fiction; but an American president doesn’t come to Canada every day. Don’t worry, Mr. President, I won’t try to sell you a copy of my Been Blued novel. (Of course, if you’d like an autographed copy, your gov’t people know how to contact me. My stats revealed they’ve checked out my web site already, possibly because I wrote a previous blog regarding one of your election commercials.)

My paternal grandparents came from the States, grandpa from Washington and grandma from Idaho. My great-grandfather was involved in the Underground Railroad. His son-in-law came to Canada because the deal was that if you worked the land for five years, it became your property. He lost it the first time when someone filed on it ‘site unseen’ but came back and tried again.

Even though I was born here, the sense of being American seems to be hereditary. I consider the US home and expect to one day become an American citizen. I had a major career setback that will make it take longer. For now, every time I return to Canada after visiting the States I go through culture shock.

I’ll admit I had some concerns about your economic policies. Then again, you had the resources to run for and win the presidency while raising a family. Of course the bailout package was necessary no matter how much we all might wonder about ‘how, where, and what’ it involves. I will offer one suggestion regarding the economy: invest in the people. Jobs equal income and without income nobody can buy goods and services. Good companies remember their workers are their best customers. Of course it would be so much simpler if we could practice the Martianomics from my third novel, where cash is still used but pretty much optional…too bad it’s fiction. Good luck, Mr. President.

Regarding the environmental movement, I believe a lot of the current economic situation has its roots in the attempt to provide a greener society. What did people think would happen when private vehicles started to be more fuel efficient? Of course the demand for oil would decrease. When people were encouraged to use less plastic, those producers either had to find new markets or switch to making a different product. Recycling is expensive and those companies also need to find ways to be profitable. Taxing people for their ‘environmental footprint’ will lead to resentment instead of solutions. North Americans are among the best people in the world for cooperation when the right options are made available to them. They look to leadership to provide those options.

I hope you enjoy your visit to Canada. If you’re ever in the Peace River area, make sure you stop by Dawson Creek, BC. It’s ‘the official start of the Alaska Highway.’ Right now I live just outside of Dawson, in Pouce Coupe (rhymes with loose Snoopy.) Good luck and God bless you, Mr. President. Thanks for coming.  🙂

Phyllis K Twombly
http://www.scifialiens.com/

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

