It’s a bit of a stereotype but creative people are often high strung. Not all high strung people are necessarily creative, some are just nervous. I’m a fairly confident person, but don’t sneak up on me. At one point my staff developed the habit of warning me if they were about to hurry past my desk, which was quite thoughtful of them. I guess they got tired of seeing me jump.

Fortunately for me, staying calm is almost as natural as being high strung. It’s not hard to maintain a balance between the two—most of the time. Some people delight in pushing high strung people over the edge. That’s not a good idea. If you poke me in the ribs and startle me at the same time you may end up on the floor and it will be your own fault.

(A quick aside here-poking someone in the ribs is cruel, nasty, and proves you’re a bully. Ribs are somewhat fragile as those of us who have fractured a few are painfully aware.)

I don’t risk alcohol. Not only do I lack any desire for it, drinking would be counterproductive to staying in control. Besides, I’m quite fond of all of my brain cells. (I suspect my definition of ‘fun’ is somewhat different than most. My enjoyment comes from a depth of experience and/or entertainment. I love writing and tend to get completely lost in encyclopedias. Or thought. Sometimes being high strung helps me return to the real world.)

Being high strung tends to be hereditary. My tendency comes from both sides of the family, although I’ve always believed the maternal side had it under better control. Of course the family assures me that the higher strung, the more intelligent you are. How nice of them.  😉

Phyllis K Twombly
http://www.ScifiAliens.com

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

Leave a Reply

