Ape Family

Sort of Real?

A few weeks ago someone (who shall remain nameless) decided it was okay to dump verbal garbage over my dreams and plans. Basically she told me none of my plans had ever worked out and none of them ever would. She claimed I was deluded to think any different. Fortunately, my future is not up to her.

My first career failed to materialize. I graduated, did practical work experience and waited. I contacted various departments and districts and participated locally, only to finally realized all the paid positions were kept for…let’s just say, other people. Now, if I wanted to continue to do massive amounts of work for free, that was just fine with them. I still believe nepotism and sexism were firmly entrenched, which didn’t help with the limited number of career positions available.

So I went through the grieving process and collected myself. What else can you do when a dream dies? I asked myself what else I wanted out of life. It turned out that was the time to become an author. My study of the publishing industry helped me to realize that the story I wanted to write was outside of the parameters of what traditional publishing houses were looking for. Besides, with fresh psychological wounds still present I wasn’t about to leave my fictional world in someone else’s hands. I found iUniverse, a self-publishing company that provided a lot of the services of a traditional publisher. No matter what my detractor said, there’s no denying the fact that my first three novels are in print, and in the way I wanted.

But dreams that get fulfilled have a way of growing, as does talent that receives an education. My life didn’t end with publication. Good writers find ways to grow their gifting. I felt the next step was to learn to write screenplays.

Last year all I could find was local theater. So I took the Tom/Phyllis/Leslie role in AR Gurney’s Sylvia. It was a great experience and allowed me to see what a theater script looked like. While I never wanted to have an acting career, it’s one of those things I wouldn’t refuse if I was ever ‘discovered.’ But there are people who dream of and work really hard for that. I wish them well.

This year I took the Film 100 course at the local college. It was great! I finished with 81%. Now I’m more aware of what’s out there, have credits that are transferable and know more about the work of filmmakers. I’m also working on my own short film. It’ll be a spoof of Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey. The ape shot above may or may not be in it…or they might all have pizza.

Once the film is complete and uploaded to YouTube I can get to work on writing screenplays. No, it’s not a living, not yet. But it’s progress. More importantly, this is part of bringing my dreams into the real world.

The only thing I feel for the lady who derided my hopes and dreams is pity. Her life never came to much. As for me, I’m over the disappointment of the career I originally trained for. Her comments surprised me, but that was all.

About Scifialiens

Author of the Martian Symbiont series: three titles, so far; Been Blued, Martian Blues, Martian Divides. Currently writing screenplays. 'Mating With Humans' can be found on her Stage32.com account. Enjoyed writing from the start. Also a Star Trek and Doctor Who fan. Canadian so far. Paternal grandparents were American. Feels more at home in the States. Loves dogs and most other animals. Loves cats from afar--allergies. Plays flute and saxophone; 'messes with' keyboard and electric guitar. Single so far. Not really looking at the moment. Age: irrelevant. Not to be confused with the fictional comic book character, Phyllis Twombly, who lived for 600 years in the American Midwest.

One response »

  1. araneus1 says:

    Thank you for the follow, it’s very encouraging.
    Terry

Leave a Reply

